Skip to main content

SciFinder: What is SciFinder? How do I access it? What can it do?

Using Scifinder to search.

About SciFinder

SciFinder is an excellent database for agricultural topics, environmental sciences, sustainability issues, and biological, mechanical or chemical engineering research. It indexes: "journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more." 

It includes Medline, one of the National Library of Medicine's databases, which increases its utility for health and food sciences, as well as for the relationships of other sciences to to health concerns. In addition, it often shows who funded a particular piece of research. SciFinder can serve as a way to find out who is working on the topic you may be interested in; it can lead to collaboration and cooperation among scholars.

You must register, using your SSU email, and create a password to use it. You must register from a computer on campus.  Your password for SciFinder won't change when you change your SSU password. CLICK HERE to register. 

This guide provides basic information about searching in this database. For more information, contact a librarian listed on the right.


What's in SciFinder?

SciFinder indexes 1500 core journals in chemistry, but also indexes relevant articles from thousands of other journals. You can find articles on many topics in a range of disciplines here--it is a great tool for interdisciplinary projects.

List of core journals in SciFinder

SciFinder includes papers and patents indexed in Chemical Abstracts and Medline.  It uses the CAS Registry to organize and allow you to search for chemicals and substances including biological materials. Within the substance file it lists property information, links to suppliers catalogs (CHEMCATS) and toxicity information (CHEMLIST). It contains a database of chemical reactions (CASREACT). 

Educational Use Only

SciFinder is the educational version of a commercial database of the same name.  Academic institutions are offered a large discount on this product with the requirement that the resource is only used for educational activities by people affiliated with the institution.  Each person that registers for an account must individually agree to these restrictions. 

If you are working for a corporation outside the University there are several versions of this product available for purchase.  Please go to the Chemical Abstracts Services site for additional information.  Some links are provided below.