Research Guides: Social Work: Find Books

Why Use Books?

Books (both print and electronic) are great resources to use because they provide in-depth information, which usually includes background information on a topic. They can contain accounts of scholarly research, popular views on topics, and historical data. To search for books and ebooks, search the library's catalog or GALILEO Discover (and narrow your results by type). To search and request to borrow books owned by schools within the University System of Georgia, use the Universal catalog.

eBooks - Social Work

Community Practice: Theories and Skills for Social Workers by David A. Hardcastle
ISBN: 9780199842650
Publication Date: 2011-01-01

Below are some examples of eBooks. eBooks are especially useful if since they can be accessed anytime and can be read on a computer, tablet, or smartphone.

Human Behavior in the Social Environment by Anissa Rogers
ISBN: 9780203868867
Publication Date: 2010-02-03
Key Themes in Health and Social Care: A Companion to Learning by Adam Barnard (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203845851
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Research for Effective Social Work Practice by Judy Krysik; Jerry Finn
ISBN: 9780203859704
Publication Date: 2010-02-24

Print Books - Social Work

The books below are available in the Reference Room Collection, located on the 1st floor of Asa H. Gordon Library. Reference books are available for use in-house only.

The encyclopedia of social work by Mizrahi, Terry and Davis, Larry E.
Call Number: HV12 .E53 2008
ISBN: 0195306619
The 400 articles in this four-volume set cover all aspects of social work. Topics include practice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, and social policy and history.
Social workers' desk reference by Roberts, Albert R. and Watkins, Julia M.
Call Number: HV40 .S6464 2009
ISBN: 0195369378
Social Workers' Desk Reference provides reliable and highly accessible information about effective services and treatment approaches across the full spectrum of social work practice.
International encyclopedia of marriage and family by Ponzetti, James J.
Call Number: HQ9 .E52 2003
ISBN: 0028656725
The work is particularly notable because of its broad scope. Marriage and family are interpreted in the broadest sense, and contemporary issues related to marriage and family are included.
Encyclopedia of gender and society by O'Brien, Jodi
Call Number: HQ1115 .E54 2009
ISBN: 1412909163
This work contains contributions from almost 300 international scholars on many aspects of gender as it relates to society and on society as it relates to gender.
Comprehensive handbook of social work and social welfare by Sowers, Karen M. and Dulmus, Catherine N.
Call Number: HV40 .C635 2008 V.1 -V.4
ISBN: 0471769975
The Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare presents a comprehensive and up-to-date review of this constantly evolving field, featuring contributions from renowned national and international experts. Organized by major foundational areas within the social work curriculum, each volume includes cutting-edge information related to all aspects of the profession to guide practice and policy decision-making across the field.