Scholarly (peer-reviewed) resources undergo review by experts in a field of study, who determine that the articles are objective and credible before they are published. Examples of peer-reviewed resources include articles in scientific journals, encyclopedias, and textbooks
Non-scholarly resources are published without review by experts. Non-scholarly resources range from a variety of types, such as websites and magazines, to newspapers and books. If you plan to use non-scholarly materials, ask your instructor beforehand, and use the CRAAP Test.
A guide to borrowing materials through GIL Express and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for Savannah State faculty, staff, and students @ http://savannahstate.libguides.com/ILL; including instructions for submitting requests.
The Discover GALILEO search will search hundreds of databases at once and return articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, trade magazines, popular magazines, eBooks, dissertations, conference proceedings, videos, and more. Searching here will give you a wide range of results, which can be helpful when you are starting your research.
As you refine your research topic, subject databases can become more useful, as you are limiting what you are searching to only publications in your field of research. See the recommended databases below.
Academic Search Complete
This database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
CREDO Reference
CREDO Reference gives you a complete reference collection from over 50 publishers world-wide, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional, and personal lives.
JSTOR An electronic archive of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The JSTOR database is unique because the complete archives of these core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s.
Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues ProCon.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy. Using the fair, FREE, and unbiased resources at ProCon.org, millions of people each year learn new facts, think critically about both sides of important issues, and strengthen their minds and opinions.
Try these databases for your Literature, Language, and Literary Criticism research needs:
The LRC is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals. It includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews, articles of literary criticism,author biographies, and full-text of over 430 literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories.
Literature Online (LION) (ProQuest)
LION is a full-text library of over 330,000 works of British and American poetry, drama, and prose. In addition to literary texts, LION includes biographical sketches of major writers, selected author bibliographies, and critical reference works.
MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY (LITERATURE AND LANGUAGE)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
This database consists of 15,500 video titles in Humanities & Social Sciences; including 1,509 English videos covering American Literature, British & Irish Literature, Dram and the Theater, Introduction to Literature, and World Literature.
Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract and subject fields in your first results.
Try these search features:
Visit the Advanced Search Techniques Guide for more tips and tricks.
Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479