ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It provides detailed company information for some of the world’s largest public and private companies. Additionally, the database houses video footage from the Associated Press, dating back to 1930. Journal articles include information, such as financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
The Business Market Research Collection provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research.
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
The Harvard Business Review is available to SSU students and faculty through Business Source Complete (EBSCO). Use either link above to access it.
HBR has placed some limitations on how its articles may be accessed via EBSCO:
The HBR notice of use restrictions is as follows:
"Harvard Business Review and Harvard Business Publishing Newsletter content on EBSCOhost is licensed for the private individual use of authorized EBSCOhost users. It is not intended for use as assigned course material in academic institutions nor as corporate learning or training materials in businesses. Academic licensees may not use this content in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources. Business licensees may not host this content on learning management systems or use persistent linking or other means to incorporate the content into learning management systems. Harvard Business Publishing will be pleased to grant permission to make this content available through such means. For rates and permission,contact permissions@harvardbusiness.org."
|
Scholarly Journal
|
Trade Magazine/Journal
|
News or Popular Magazine
|
|
|---|---|---|---|
| Also known as... | Academic, Peer-Reviewed, Refereed | Industry, Professional | Newspapers |
| Audience | Academics and researchers | Professionals | General public |
| Authors | Experts or specialists (PhD). Unpaid | Staff writers, industry specialists, or vendor representatives. Paid | Journalists, staff writers, or freelance writers. Paid |
| Editorial Review | Journal editorial board and peer review. Unpaid | Professional editors. Paid | Professional editors. Paid |
| References/ Works Cited | Almost always | Sometimes | Rarely |
| Typical Publication Frequency | Bimonthly, quarterly or semi-annually | Weekly, monthly or bimonthly | Daily, weekly or monthly |
| Example | Journal of Marketing | Marketing News | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stated purpose | "...develops and disseminates knowledge about real-world marketing questions... [publishes] conceptual articles and empirical articles... [and] other types of research as well, as long as they offer theoretical and empirical contributions into important marketing questions." | "Publishes articles, interviews, commentary and news of note on marketing aimed at members of the American Marketing Association." | an "informative guide[s] to what is happening in the worlds of health and science, politics, business, society and entertainment...sparks debate...responds immediately when big news breaks... understands your world." |
| Example article title |
"How Consumers' Political Ideology and Status-Maintenance Goals Interact to Shape Their Desire for Luxury Goods" |
"How to Take Control of Your Marketing Career" |
"TikTok Is Turning New Artists Into Viral Sensations. But Who Actually Benefits?" |
| Price | $190.00 | $80.00 | $30.00 |
Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479
