Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library

Information about how to conduct research at the Asa H. Gordon Library's Special Collections.

Donation Wishlist

The Special Collections staff is interested in copies of the following:

Yearbooks

Hubertonian 1937

Tiger 1948

Tiger 1950

Tiger 1955

Tiger 1961

Student Publications

The Tiger's Roar Newspaper- any issues from 1974 to today

Any other student publications 

Alumni Publications

Newsletters

Magazines

(These can be printed or digital.)

     

Recordings

Radio station programs from WCHJ 90.3

Video of SSC or SSU events

Programs

Honors Day, Founders Day, Commencement, National Freedom Day, and any other special event program from campus

Photographs

Digital photos and printed photos of special events on campus

 

Do you want to keep the original but are willing for us to make a copy? Get in touch! 

Do you have digital files of newsletters saved in your email? Do you have digital photos from your college days you'd be willing to share? We want to talk to you! Please get in touch with Jennifer West at westj@savannahstate.edu.

Donating Materials to the Archives

Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library collects and maintains non-current records of permanent administrative, fiscal, evidentiary, informational, legal, and historical value to Savannah State University. 

In addition, Special Collections is happy to receive research, personal, and published papers of private persons associated with the University including staff, students, and alumni. These materials shed light on student life and on the academic experience at SSU, and also help us complete our holdings of student- and University-produced publications.

Typical items welcomed by Special Collections include:

  • Records of student organizations (meeting minutes, founding documents, reports, photographs)
     
  • Publications (yearbooks, newsletters, promotional flyers, event programs)
     
  • Realia (Sports memorabilia, trophies, spirit wear)
     
  • Materials that describe or document your personal experience at Savannah State (scrapbooks, diaries, correspondence with faculty, administrators, fellow students, and family; photographs, audio-visuals)

Donations of these materials are considered gifts to Special Collections. Please contact librarian Jennifer West at (912) 358-4322 or westj@savannahstate.edu for donation procedures if you are considering a gift.

-Adopted from Northwestern University Archives

Asa H. Gordon Library

Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479