Gathering background information, getting a general overview, and building context for your topic are some of the first steps to doing research. Try looking at encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference materials to get a general overview and clear definitions on your topic. Use the resources on this page to gather some background information on a topic before you dig into doing some serious research. Having a better understanding of a topic will help improve your assignment.
Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis by
In this volume, some of the field's foremost practitioners offer their expert perspective on a range of topics within ABA. Each chapter is fully referenced and contains a set of reading objectives to facilitate deeper understanding and further discussion of its subject area. While these discussions will be of particular interest to academic behavior analysts and graduate students, clinicians and other practitioners will find the research review helpful and informative.
The Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders by
Approximately 500 entries address the different types of autism, causes and treatments, institutions, associations, leading scientists and research, social impact, and much more. The book tackles a complex and daunting subject in clear language suitable for the general reader. and research, a glossary, and a bibliography.
Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Handbook for Parents and Professionals by
Contains original entries on the topic of autism spectrum disorders. These entries include facts about disabilities, personal and historic perspectives, interventions, assessments, educational methods, trusted internet resources, and national organizations, and it outlines the contributions of founding researchers and other professionals. It also includes lesson plans that can be implemented in a home, school, or community setting. Also included are personal perspectives from individuals with ASD and their parents.
Austism Spectrum Conditions: A Guide by
A comprehensive introduction to working with people with autism spectrum conditions, which addresses their needs across the lifespan and across the range of intellectual functioning. Though the content is grounded in evidence-based practice and recent research, the text is intended to be as practical as possible, offering insight into the everyday lives of people with autism spectrum conditions and how staff can best support them.
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by
Edited by high caliber experts, and contributed to by quality researchers and practitioners in psychology and related fields. Includes over 500 topical entries Each entry features suggested readings and extensive cross-referencing Accessible to students and general readers Edited by two outstanding scholars and clinicians
Most reference resources are considered "tertiary" source materials and are great for gathering background information. Tertiary sources include
*Also considered secondary
The American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. It is a tool for clinicians, an essential educational resource for students and practitioners, and a reference for researchers in the field.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus. This focus was achieved in several ways. The managing and consulting editorial boards were comprised of world-renowned scholars in psychology from many different countries, not just the United States. They reviewed and edited all of the keyword entries to make them lively and applicable across cultural contexts, incorporating the latest knowledge in contemporary international psychology. Thus entries related to culture, as well as those from all domains of psychology, are written with the broadest possible audience in mind. Also, many keywords central to contemporary psychology were incorporated that are not included in many competitors, including the Oxford and APA dictionaries
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms by
With a variety of concepts and vocabulary used in the psychological literature, search and retrieval of records about specific concepts is virtually impossible without the controlled vocabulary of a thesaurus. This controlled vocabulary provides a way of structuring matter in a way that is consistent among users.
Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479