The resources identified in this LibGuide are by no means a comprehensive list of resources available.
Books are the best source for indepth information when you really need to know a subject in and out. Typical books are structured in such a way as to lead you from little knowledge about a subject to a more thorough understanding; this cannot usually be said for web resources or more in-depth articles.
Emergency Response to Domestic Terrorism: How Bureaucracies Reacted to the 1995 Oklahoma City Bombing by
Emergency Response to Domestic Terrorism analyzes the emergency response to the bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City on April 19, 1995. Terrorism is a complex threat, and the American government is expected to deter or intervene in every attack. For that reason, the government must be better prepared to respond to acts of terror. One critical element is to understand what constitutes an "effective response." To answer this key question, the author examined the existing literature and interviewed thirty-one elite participants in the emergency response to the bombing. The result is a unique qualitative case study that analyzes the response efforts undertaken after the bombing to draw conclusions about their relative success or failure. Emergency Response to Domestic Terrorism looks at the nature and interrelationship of bureaucratic structures involved in the response, the organizational networking between the response bureaucracy, and the impact of bureaucratic culture on the response. The work contributes to the existing literatures in both emergency response and bureaucracy. First, theoretical arguments about bureaucracies and their function are put to the test as they are applied to a specific crisis situation. Second, interview materials with key individuals who were on the scene of this American terrorist disaster are provided. Third, the emergency response literature is examined to determine whether the Oklahoma City bombing exhibited the anticipated response challenges. In addition, the work provides insights into the extent to which response communities are familiar with federal response guidelines. The overall results of the study are applicable to emergency response to terrorist incidents and to natural disasters. By bringing together the academic and the practical aspects of emergency response, the work will appeal to students, practitioners, and policymakers. Further, it will foster better understanding of public policy and public administration in general.
Ideologically Motivated Murder: The Threat Posed by White Supremacist Groups by
cts of terrorism committed by domestic extremists outnumber those committed by international actors. White supremacist groups are linked to a considerable number of these terrorist acts. Although part of the same movement, certain groups appear to pose a greater threat than others in that they are linked to a greater number of ideologically motivated homicides. Caspi investigated whether a group's location within its network accounted for this phenomenon. Interestingly, this preliminary study suggests that an association between network location and threat of extreme violence does exist. This finding may have important implications for those tasked with fighting terrorism.
Investigating Terrorism: Current Political, Legal and Psychological Issues by
Investigating Terrorism takes a look behind the closed doors of terrorist cases. Major players from the world of counter-terrorism, including politicians, lawyers, psychologists and police, offer analyses of recent terror attacks and share their knowledge of terrorist behaviour Deals with legal, psychological and practical issues surrounding how to deal with a real life 'ticking bomb' scenario Provides an insight into the most recent police model for interviewing witnesses, victims and suspects Contains the latest analyses of recent terrorist attacks including the recent Norwegian tragedy carried out by terrorist Anders Breivik Contains the views of major players in the world of counter-terrorism, including Lord Carlile, the former HMG's Independent Reviewer of Terrorist legislation, and Peter Clarke, the recently retired Head of Terrorist Investigations for the UK Incorporates recently-released findings from studies commissioned by New Scotland Yard to study the effectiveness of police interviews with terrorist suspects Includes chapters discussing the context in which people become suicide bombers .
The Mounting Threat of Domestic Terrorism: al Qaeda and the Salvadoran Gang MS-13 by
Starita considers the terrorist threat of the transnational criminal syndicate Mara Salvatrucha, commonly known as MS-13, its affiliation with Frente Farabundo Marti para la Liberacion Nacional (FMLN) in El Salvador, and its possible link to al Qaeda. Starita's findings suggest that the goals, tactical capabilities, and organizational fecklessness of MS-13 make the Salvadoran gang capable of providing the assistance necessary for the realization of al Qaeda's goals and that this assistance could be provided by the cliques of MS-13 operating in the southwestern United States. Further, she finds indirect evidence of collaboration between MS-13 and al Qaeda andthat other transnational criminal syndicates could also offer al Qaeda the same tactical assistance MS-13 might provide.
Safety, Liberty, and Islamist Terrorism: American and European Approaches to Domestic Counterterrorism by
The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, produced a revolution in domestic security in the United States. The Bush administration responded quickly by aggressively enforcing existing laws, sponsoring new legislation, overhauling domestic intelligence, and employing the president's executive power in ways that drew criticism from civil libertarians on both the left and right. Many hoped that the succeeding administration would adopt a more 'European' approach to domestic security-an approach typically understood to be more compatible with the rule of law and friendlier to civil liberties. But Europe has suffered major terrorist attacks as well-in Madrid in 2004 and London in 2005-and terrorist plots continue to plague America's European allies. Has this shared experience engendered a common approach to domestic security, or, as many believe, is there a transatlantic divide in counterterrorism strategy? In Safety, Liberty, and Islamist Terrorism: American and European Approaches to Domestic Counterterrorism, Gary J. Schmitt leads a group of security and intelligence experts in analyzing the domestic counterterrorism regimes of the United Kingdom, France, Spain, Germany, and the United States. The author's in-depth analysis provides a unique window into the similarities and differences among the counterterrorism efforts of these major democracies and explores the possibilities (and limitations) of applying one country's lessons to another. Safety, Liberty, and Islamist Terrorism concludes with a broad assessment of the changes made to U.S. counterterrorism strategy since 9/11 in comparison with current European laws, institutions, and practices, and with policies instituted during past American domestic security crises. The analysis uncovers evidence of a shared strategic imperative: preemption. For the United States, preemption occurs both at home and on battlefields abroad, while for Europe, preemption is primarily a domestic affair, often resulting in laws that allow more aggressive policing of terrorist activity than occurs in the United States. The comparison also yields insights about how the transatlantic community has balanced the need to address the jihadist threat with maintaining civic order at home. Although no country has a perfect record, Schmitt contends that changes made to domestic security policy in response to the terrorist threat have not undermined the United States and Europe's shared commitment to democracy and liberty. 'Certainly, tradeoffs have been made between individual liberties and domestic security,' Schmitt writes. 'But if we take the broad view, we are struck by how minimal those intrusions on our liberties have been, given the threat we face.'
Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the subject fields in your first results.
Try these search features:
Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479