Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science

This LibGuide supports research needs of the Political Science Department.

.

General Data from the Federal Government

Data.gov
Data.gov is a citizen-friendly platform that provides access to Federal datasets. With a searchable data catalog, Data.gov helps the public find, access, and download non-sensitive Government data and tools in a variety of formats.

U.S. Government Printing Office (FDSys)
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. 

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

U.S. Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments. 

Local and State

Georgia Census Data
The Georgia Census Data provides access to the U.S. Census Bureau's State and County Quick Facts data. Broken into three sections: People Quick Facts, Business Quick Facts, and Geography Quick Facts, the site offers a break down of some of the key statistics associated with Georgia. Statistics are derived from the following sources: Population Estimates, Census of Population and Housing, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, State and County Housing Unit Estimates, County Business Patterns, Nonemployer Statistics, Economic Census, Survey of Business Owners, Building Permits, Consolidated Federal Funds Report.

Specialized Data

DHS Open Data (Department of Homeland Security)
DHS and its components provide access to statistical reports and machine readable data sets. These datasets are available in the DHS section of Data.gov and follow the guiding principles set in the DHS Digital Government strategy. 
 

Immigration
Office of Immigration Statistics

The Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) has responsibility to carry out two statutory requirements: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components.

Border Crossing/Entry Data
The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) Border Crossing/Entry Data provide summary statistics for incoming crossings at the U.S.-Canadian and the U.S.-Mexican border at the port level. Data are available for trucks, trains, containers, buses, personal vehicles, passengers, and pedestrians. Border crossing data are collected at ports of entry by U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP). The data reflect the number of vehicles, containers, passengers or pedestrians entering the United States

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
These USCIS reports generally provide summary data on the number of applications or petitions received, approved, denied and pending. In addition, certain tables list the USCIS office responsible for the adjudication.

 

Terrorism

Global Terrorism Database (University of Maryland)
Open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2016. GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as transnational and international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 170,000 cases. For each GTD incident, information is available on the date and location of the incident, the weapons used and nature of the target, the number of casualties, and--when identifiable--the group or individual responsible. Statistical information contained in the Global Terrorism Database is based on reports from a variety of open media sources.

National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (University of Maryland)
Database integrates four open-source data sets to facilitate more robust and sophisticated analysis of the behaviors, operations, and activities of violent extremists within the United States.
 

US Department of State: Country Reports on Terrorism
U.S. law requires the Secretary of State to provide Congress, by April 30 of each year, a full and complete report on terrorism with regard to those countries and groups meeting criteria set forth in the legislation. This annual report is entitled Country Reports on Terrorism. Beginning with the report for 2004, it replaced the previously published Patterns of Global Terrorism

Chicago Project on Security & Threats
The Chicago Project on Security and Threats (CPOST) is an international security affairs research institute based at the University of Chicago. Founded in 2004 by Robert Pape, Professor of Political Science at the university, CPOST is best known for creating and maintaining the most comprehensive and transparent suicide attack database available.

 

Hazards

U.S. National Hazard Statistics
The U.S. Natural Hazard Statistics provide statistical information on fatalities, injuries and damages caused by weather related hazards. These statistics are compiled by the Office of Services and the National Climatic Data Center from information contained in Storm Data, a report comprising data from NWS forecast offices in the 50 states, Puerto Rico, Guam and the Virgin Islands

 

Law Enforcement

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, And Explosives 
Available from no other source, this comprehensive collection of ATF-related data from national surveys, state-based surveys, other collected license statistics, and other data sources documents trends in firearms, commerce and use of federal services in the United States.

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
The primary source for criminal justice statistics. Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government is available. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.

Federal Bureau of Investigation's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR)
The UCR Program is a voluntary city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement program that provides a nationwide view of crime based on the submission of statistics by law enforcement agencies throughout the country. The UCR Program collects data on known offenses and persons arrested by law enforcement agencies. Four annual publications are produced from data from over 18,000 law enforcement agencies

 

Education

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

 

Political Risk

Index of Economic Freedom
Ranked list of countries from a conservative think tank for various criteria under broad categories: rule of law, limited government, regulatory efficiency and open markets.

World Governance Indicators (World Bank)
Provides indicators and ranking on criteria in Control of Corruption, Government Effectiveness, Political Stability, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law and Voice and Accountability. Some are transformed versions of PRS data.

 

Public Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

National Center for Health Statistics
This website compiles data to document the health status of the population and of important subgroups, and to identify disparities in health status and use of health care by race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, region, and other population characteristics.

 

Transportation

Federal Aviation Administration: Accident & Incident Data

US Department of Transportation
As the independent statistical agency within the Department of Transportation (DOT), the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) is a politically objective supplier of trusted and statistically sound baseline, contextual, and trend information used to shape transportation policy, investments, and research across the U.S. and abroad.

Asa H. Gordon Library

Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479