Research Guides: What Moves You? A Resource Guide to Popular Social Movements: Find Articles+

Finding Articles+

Retrieved from: Los Angeles Times

Tips for Searching

Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the subject fields in your first results.Try these search features:

Use quotes to search for phrases (example: "Global Poverty Crisis”)
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow your search
Use truncation (example: Congress* retrieves Congress, Congressional)
Sort results by date or relevance
Browse subject headings

Try this- Discover GALILEO

The Discover GALILEO search will search hundreds of databases at once and return articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, trade magazines, popular magazines, eBooks, dissertations, conference proceedings, videos, and more. Searching here will give you a wide range of results, which can be helpful when you are starting your research.

As you refine your research topic, subject databases can become more useful, as you are limiting what you are searching to only publications in your field of research. See the recommended databases below.

Suggested Political Science Databases

Social Science Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies, and International relations.
Political Science Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Political Science gives users access to over 460 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full-text of 430 core titles, many of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. New to ProQuest Political Science are hundreds of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, as well as thousands of current working papers from the Political Science Research Network.
ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni is designed to address three key components requested by millennial students: personalization, collaboration and quick discovery. Nexis Uni offers many new features to address these needs, and is a better research experience overall for students.

Off-Campus Access

To access GALILEO database resources from off-campus, you will need to enter your Tigerworld credentials.

Some links will automatically bring up a Savannah State log-in screen for your Tigerworld credentials.

At the GALILEO main page https://www.galileo.usg.edu/, you may see a "Find your Library or School" box in the middle of the screen. Type in Savannah State University then click GO to bring up the Tigerworld log-in screen.

If you are having trouble logging in, please chat with a librarian by clicking below or email westj@savannahstate.edu if the chat is not available.

chat loading...

Scholarly v. Non-Scholary

Scholarly (peer-reviewed) resources undergo review by experts in a field of study, who determine that the articles are objective and credible before they are published. Examples of peer-reviewed resources include articles in scientific journals, encyclopedias, and textbooks

Non-scholarly resources are published without review by experts. Non-scholarly resources range from a variety of types, such as websites and magazines, to newspapers and books. If you plan to use non-scholarly materials, ask your instructor beforehand, and use the CRAAP Test.

Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479