Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library

Information about how to conduct research at the Asa H. Gordon Library's Special Collections.

Our Mission

richard r wright

Mission Statement
Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library has been established to collect, organize, describe, preserve, and make available University materials of permanent institutional and historical value. Special Collections will further encourage the dissemination of knowledge pertaining to the origins of programs and goals of the University by providing facilities for the retention, preservation, servicing, and research of Savannah State University documents. In addition, Special Collections will serve as a research source for the study of the University’s history by members of the University community and the scholarly community at large.

--
Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library serves as a repository for materials documenting the history of Savannah State University.

The collections include documents, manuscripts, photographs, campus publications, and books by Savannah State faculty, staff, and alumni. Special Collections also presents exhibits and forums for lectures, presentation and academic discussions.

Richard R. Wright, Sr.
First President, 1891-1921
Georgia State Industrial College for Colored Youths

Fall 2021 Services by Appointment

Visits to the Special Collections are available by appointment only. Please schedule an appointment using the link below. 

Click here for appointments

Please note that you will receive an automated confirmation and a confirmation email from westj@savannahstate.edu if your booking goes through. If you do not receive any confirmation emails, please try again.

If you need more immediate assistance, please call the library's administrative office at (912) 358-4330. You may also email us at at specialcollections@savannahstate.edu, and we will help you to the best of our abilities. Thank you for your understanding.

Asa H. Gordon Library

Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479