Research Guides: Mathematics Department Guide: Journals

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Sources

Scholarly or Peer Reviewed articles undergo a review process by experts in the field. This review process helps ensure that the information in the article is credible, objective, and follows proper research procedures before it is published. Examples of scholarly/peer reviewed research includes articles in scientific journals, textbooks, and some specialty encyclopedias. If you have any questions about whether an article you've located is scholarly/peer reviewed, please ASK your professor or a reference librarian before you use it!

Suggested Journals

This is not a comprehensive list of journals available for your research. It is merely a suggestion list to get you started. Please speak with your professor, or a reference librarian, if you need additional suggestions for appropriate journals.

American Journal of Mathematics
Available from 2003
International Journal of Mathematics & Mathematical Sciences
Available from 2008
Journal of Applied Mathematics
Available from 2007
Journal of Mathematics Teacher Education
Available from 1998
Mathematical Intelligencer
Available from 1993
Quarterly Journal of Mathematics
Available from 1996
SIAM Journal on Discrete Mathematics
Available from 1988 to 2014
Surveys in Mathematics & its Applications
Available from 2008

Search GALILEO

Search Galileo Discover to find articles on your topic! You can limit to Scholary/Peer Reviewed before (use Advanced Search) or after you do your initial search!

Suggested Databases

Sometimes it's more beneficial to search specific subject databases, rather than the entire Galileo discovery tool. Here is a list of suggested subject databases for Mathematics.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
The eBook Academic Collection from EBSCO contains a selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Over 119,000 titles are included in this package, and titles are added to the package each month at no additional cost. All titles are available with unlimited user access.
Math: Wolfram Functions Site
The Wolfram Functions Site provides formulas and visualizations of mathematical functions. The site was developed as an encyclopedic resource to the educational, mathematical, and scientific communities and is partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
The Math Forum: Student Center
The Math Forum: Student Center is a collection of activities, puzzles, games, weekly challenges, and other resources for mathematics students from preschool through graduate school. The Student Center also includes the the Ask Dr. Math question and answer service and The Math Library.
National Science Digital Library
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science,technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. You’ll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book ("How much corn is grown in Iowa?") and a guide to statistical sources ("What organization has the most authoritative data on foreclosures?"). As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.
Statistics: CAUSEWeb
CAUSEWeb is a website with educator resources from the Consortium for the Advancement of Undergraduate Statistics Education. Resources include lesson modules, student activities, assignments, datasets, and videos. The site also offers links to research and professional development opportunities. This site is part of the National Science Digital Library (NSDL), which is supported by the National Science Foundation.

Library Account

Every Savannah State University student, faculty and staff member has a library account. Your library account can be used to:

Renew books you have checked out and see any overdue items.
Access GIL Express to order books from other University System of Georgia schools.
Obtain the GALILEO Password for off-campus access to databases, journals, and electronic books.

For more information on accessing your Library Account, click here.