Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the subject fields in your first results.
Try these search features:
Visit the Search Techniques LibGuide for more tips and trick
To access GALILEO database resources from off-campus, you will need to enter your Tigerworld credentials.
Some links will automatically bring up a Savannah State log-in screen for your Tigerworld credentials.
At the GALILEO main page https://www.galileo.usg.edu/, you may see a "Find your Library or School" box in the middle of the screen. Type in Savannah State University then click GO to bring up the Tigerworld log-in screen.
If you are having trouble logging in, please chat with a librarian by clicking below or email westj@savannahstate.edu if the chat is not available.
The Discover GALILEO search will search hundreds of databases at once and return articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, trade magazines, popular magazines, eBooks, dissertations, conference proceedings, videos, and more. Searching here will give you a wide range of results, which can be helpful when you are starting your research.
As you refine your research topic, subject databases can become more useful, as you are limiting what you are searching to only publications in your field of research. See the recommended databases below.
For Legal, Business, and News
Nexis Uni
Contains thousands of publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works.
For Newspapers
ProQuest Newspapers
ProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, andSouth China Morning Post. Detailed indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas and provides access to detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
For Scholarly Articles
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
Academic Search Complete
This database offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Social Science Journals (ProQuest)
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Research Library (at Proquest)
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Retrieved from
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Immigration_Reform_Leaders_Arrested_13.jpg
Scholarly (peer-reviewed) resources undergo review by experts in a field of study, who determine that the articles are objective and credible before they are published. Examples of peer-reviewed resources include articles in scientific journals, encyclopedias, and textbooks
Non-scholarly resources are published without review by experts. Non-scholarly resources range from a variety of types, such as websites and magazines, to newspapers and books. If you plan to use non-scholarly materials, ask your instructor beforehand, and use the CRAAP Test.
Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479