Research Guides: PSYC 1101: Introduction to Psychology: Find Books

Finding Books

The resources identified in this LibGuide are by no means a comprehensive list of resources available.

To identify books, eBooks, DVDs, and other items in the Library's collections, use the GIL-Find catalog.
To identify materials held at other USG Libraries, select "University System of Georgia" from the dropdown menu when searching the GIL-Find catalog. Use our GIL Express service to have materials sent to SSU.
To identify materials beyond the local region, use the WorldCat catalog and our ILL services.

Why Books?

Books are the best source for information when you really need to know a subject in and out. Typical books are structured in such a way as to lead you from little knowledge about a subject to a more thorough understanding; this cannot usually be said for web resources or more in-depth articles.

Recent Titles

The African American Child : Development and Challenges by Yvette R. Harris; James A. Graham
This is an evenhanded examination of the challenges affecting the lives of African American children that emphasizes their strengths and resiliency rather than deficits. It is the only text to comprehensively consider the biological, emotional, social, and cultural domains of development in this population. The second edition reflects an acceleration of research on the development of racial identity in African American children, a shift from the dictates of "No Child Left Behind" to a more flexible approach to student academic evaluation, and changes in the economic conditions of African American children and their families. The book also reflects the increase in the number of African American children in foster care and those with incarcerated parents. New coverage also includes new information about the mental health of African Americans, and a new chapter on adolescent development.
Child Development : Thinking About Theories by Phillip T. Slee; Rosalyn H. Shute
Child Development: Thinking About Theories is one of the few texts to critically examine both modern and postmodern contributions to theoretical development in child and adolescent psychology. The text has been written specifically taking into account the findings from a focus group of Honours psychology students to include pedagogical features such as an overview of theories linking the various schools of thought, ideas for further study and links to selected websites; as well as the latest developments in theoretical thinking including evolutionary theory, feminism and indigenous theory, and implications of theory for practice. Drawing from a worldwide background of research, the text is unique in that it contains many examples from Australia and other Pacific nations.
The Millennial Adolescent by Nan Bahr; Donna Pendergast
The Millennial Adolescent offers contemporary, stimulating and relevant insights to those currently teaching, as well as those preparing to become teachers of adolescents. It contains well-known frameworks for developing understandings about adolescents, blended and contrasted with a contemporary socio-cultural construction of adolescence, set in our particular time, era and society.
The Journey of Child Development : Selected Papers of Joseph D. Noshpitz by Bruce Sklarew; Myra Sklarew
As founder and past president of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and president of the American Association of Children's Residential Centers, Joseph Noshpitz was at the forefront of psychodynamic treatment and research with children and adolescents for more than forty years. These previously unpublished papers demonstrate Noshpitz's scope and the depth to which he conceived the psychic life of the child. The papers present an unyielding advocacy for the progressive development of the child interacting with the society at large, most evidenced in the extraordinarily far-reaching proposal for wider preventive family interventions.
Child Development in Practice : Responsive Teaching and Learning From Birth to Five by Pamela May
ISBN: 9780415497534
In today’s busy setting an understanding of child development sometimes gets overlooked, yet it lies at the heart of effective practice. Child Development in Practice provides an approachable, user-friendly base from which to plan ways of working with children that are developmentally appropriate and will enable them to learn enjoyably and effectively.

Drawing on recent research, the book thoughtfully discusses sound principles of child development alongside descriptions of every day practice.

Tips for Searching

Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract and subject fields in your first results.

Try these search features:

Use quotes to search for phrases (example: "developmental psychology”)
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow your search
Use truncation (example: psych* will find psychiology, psychologist, psychological)
Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type
Sort results by date or relevance
Browse subject headings

Visit the Search Techniques LibGuide for more tips and tricks.