SOCI 3401: Social Research Methods

The General Social Survey
General Social Survey (GSS) studies the growing complexity of American society. It is the only full-probability, personal-interview survey designed to monitor changes in both social characteristics and attitudes currently being conducted in the United States.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

American Community Survey (ACS)
The American Community Survey helps local officials, community leaders and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce

Other:

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
Primary source for criminal justice statistics. Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government is available. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.

Federal Bureau of Investigation's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR)
The UCR Program is a voluntary city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement program that provides a nationwide view of crime based on the submission of statistics by law enforcement agencies throughout the country. The UCR Program collects data on known offenses and persons arrested by law enforcement agencies. Four annual publications are produced from data from over 18,000 law enforcement agencies

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
This website compiles data to document the health status of the population and of important subgroups, and to identify disparities in health status and use of health care by race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, region, and other population characteristics.

U.S. Government Printing Office (FDSys)
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. 

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

U.S. Census Bureau & American Fact Finder
The U.S. Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.

 

Data,gov
Data.gov is a citizen-friendly platform that provides access to Federal datasets. With a searchable data catalog, Data.gov helps the public find, access, and download non-sensitive Government data and tools in a variety of formats.

Georgia Census Data
The Georgia Census Data provides access to the U.S. Census Bureau's State and County Quick Facts data. Broken into three sections: People Quick Facts, Business Quick Facts, and Geography Quick Facts, the site offers a break down of some of the key statistics associated with Georgia. Statistics are derived from the following sources: Population Estimates, Census of Population and Housing, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, State and County Housing Unit Estimates, County Business Patterns, Nonemployer Statistics, Economic Census, Survey of Business Owners, Building Permits, Consolidated Federal Funds Report.