SOCI 3036: Social Stratification

Discovery GALILEO searches many of the GALILEO databases at once. If you are looking for a wide variety of sources and lots of results, this is a good way to search. If you want to find scholarly sources within the field of sociology, I recommend using one of the subject databases in the next box down. 

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) 
This database is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.The sociological Collection includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

JSTOR
An electronic archive of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The JSTOR database is unique because the complete archives of these core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s.

Sociology Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Social Science Database (ProQuest)
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

Almost all of the Asa H. Gordon Library's online resources are available to you from off-campus through GALILEO.

In order to access GALILEO from off-campus, you need your Tigerworld credentials. Most links from the Research Guide will include the prompt to enter your Tigerworld credentials. If you are having trouble logging in, try going to the Gordon Library's home page, go to Research Tools, and select GALILEO from the drop-down menu. If you need to retrieve your Tigerworld Password, go here: https://simba.savannahstate.edu/students/login.aspx 

Scholarly (peer-reviewed) resources undergo review by experts in a field of study, who determine that the articles are objective and credible before they are published. Examples of peer-reviewed resources include articles in scientific journals, encyclopedias, and textbooks

Non-scholarly resources are published without review by experts. Non-scholarly resources range from a variety of types, such as websites and magazines, to newspapers and books. If you plan to use non-scholarly materials, ask your instructor beforehand, and use the CRAAP Test.

Make sure you check the Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journals box to limit your results to the appropriate resources.

Check the Full Text box to limit your results to available items. 

Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract and subject fields in your first results.

Try these search features:

• Use quotes to search for phrases (example: "sociology of education”)
   
• Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow your search
   
• Use truncation (example: socio* will find sociology, sociologist, sociological)
   
• Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type