Skip to main content

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: About

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform

What is ProQuest Dissertations & Thesis A&I?

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses) covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861, and thousands of new dissertations and theses are added each year. For dissertations done in 1997 and later, PDFs of some titles are available.

For some items, references are given to the print edition of Dissertation Abstracts, American Doctoral Dissertations, and Masters Abstracts. Abstracts may be consulted in those publications. Check with your librarian for further information the availability of those print publications.

Not all dissertations from all participating universities are included in Dissertation Abstracts. For assistance in locating the full text of dissertations and theses, please speak with a reference librarian at your college or university.

Publication Types

  • Doctoral Dissertations
  • Master's Theses

Publication Coverage

This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. You have access to:

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Business
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Health & Medicine
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: History
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Literature & Language
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Science & Technology
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Social Sciences ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: The Arts​