Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms by Index terms are controlled vocabulary terms used in database records to make searching easier and more successful. By standardizing the words or phrases used to represent concepts, you don't need to try and figure out all the ways different authors could refer to the same concept.
Most reference resources are considered "tertiary" souce materials. These books and websites provide background information and an overview and analysis of a subject or concept.
Tertiary souirces have been compiled from secondary sources. Unlike a secondary source book or journal article, tertiary sources are not intended to be read in their entirety. Instead, they are most often used to clarify terms and concepts about a particular topic.Tertiary sources include
*Also considered secondary
The American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. Since a complete description of the underlying pathological processes is not possible for most mental disorders, it is important to emphasize that the current diagnostic criteria are the best available description of how mental disorders are expressed and can be recognized by trained clinicians. DSM is intended to serve as a practical, functional, and flexible guide for organizing information that can aid in the accurate diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders. It is a tool for clinicians, an essential educational resource for students and practitioners, and a reference for researchers in the field.
The Intelligent Clinician's Guide to the DSM-5® by
The Intelligent Clinician's Guide to the DSM-5RG explores all revisions to the latest version of the Diagnostic and Statistics Manual, and shows clinicians how they can best apply the strong points and shortcomings of psychiatry's most contentious resource. Written by a celebrated professor of psychiatry, this reader-friendly book uses evidence-based critiques and new research to point out where DSM-5 is right, where it is wrong, and where the jury's still out. Along the way, The Intelligent Clinician's Guide to the DSM-5RG sifts through the many public controversies and clinical debates surrounding the drafting of the manual and shows how they inform a modern understanding of psychiatric illness, diagnosis and treatment. This book is necessary reading for all mental health professionals as they grapple with the first major revision of the DSM to appear in over 30 years.
DSM-5® Guidebook by
DSM-5® Guidebook: The Essential Companion to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition is a user-friendly, supplementary guide for psychiatrists, psychologists, and other mental health practitioners who need to know how DSM-5® differs from its predecessor in terms of organizational structure, diagnostic categories, and the criteria themselves. While it does not replace the comprehensive and authoritative DSM-5®, it illuminates its content by teaching mental health professionals how to use the revised diagnostic criteria and by providing a practical context for its clinical use. The book offers many valuable features, including: * An historical overview of the development of the DSM in general, and DSM-5® in particular, a progression that might be said to mirror the evolution of psychiatry as a whole. The material on the creation of DSM-5® includes coverage of dimensional assessment, reliability and field trials, and the controversies that arose during development of DSM-5®.* An indispensable chapter on how to use DSM-5® that addresses coding, diagnostic certainty, the demise of the multiaxial system, and the key changes to each diagnostic category.* Full coverage of the significant reorganization from DSM-IV-TR® to DSM-5®, which is designed to incorporate advances in neuroscience, brain imaging and genetics. Chapters were reordered to reflect scientific advances in the understanding of psychiatric disorders, and the presumed etiological and the pathophysiological relationships among them.* Extensive coverage of the decision to integrate dimensional measures into DSM-5®, which may enhance the clinician's ability to assess symptom variation and severity and aid in patient evaluation, treatment decisions, and outcome monitoring. The various measures are presented and their use discussed.* Finally, as the authors were not part of the revision process, they offer a fresh, down-to-earth perspective that will resonate with clinicians by focusing on the changes that will most significantly impact clinicians' professional lives. DSM-5® Guidebook provides a roadmap to the many changes in this living document, DSM-5®, and will prove invaluable to psychiatrists, psychologists, psychiatric nurses, neurologists, social workers, and all who strive to understand mental illness as it is conceived today.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by 
DSM-IV-TR in Action by
Thoroughly updated and revised?the bestselling resource for the practical application of the DSM-IV-TR for clinical assessment, diagnosis, and treatment Now with the most current treatments and evidence-based practices, DSM-IV-TR in Action brings the DSM-IV-TR to life with clear instruction on using it to formulate and complete an assessment, accurately diagnose clients, and prepare a comprehensive and effective treatment plan. Complete with new chapters on delirium, dementia, amnestic, and other cognitive disorders as well as on selected sexual disorders, the Second Edition also adds new coverage of disruptive behavior disorders, eating disorders in children, substance disorders, psychotic disorders, unipolar and bipolar mood disorders, anxiety disorders, and personality disorders. New treatment plans have been added, and existing ones have been updated. This edition also discusses the expected changes to come in the highly anticipated DSM-5. Numerous case studies bring the material to life and demonstrate how the DSM-IV-TR is applied in practice. In addition, the information on maintaining clinical records and using time-limited therapy, as well as an appendix of sample treatment plans, make this a must-have guide for students and seasoned mental health professionals.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-IV-TR by
Since the DSM-IV® was published in 1994, we've seen many advances in our knowledge of psychiatric illness. This Text Revision incorporates information culled from a comprehensive literature review of research about mental disorders published since DSM-IV® was completed in 1994. Updated information is included about the associated features, culture, age, and gender features, prevalence, course, and familial pattern of mental disorders. The DSM-IV-TR® brings this essential diagnostic tool up-to-date, to promote effective diagnosis, treatment, and quality of care. Now you can get all the essential diagnostic information you rely on from the DSM-IV® along with important updates not found in the 1994 edition. Stay current with important updates to the DSM-IV-TR®: #149; Benefit from new research into Schizophrenia, Asperger's Disorder, and other conditions#149; Utilize additional information about the epidemiology and other facets of DSM conditions#149; Update ICD-9-CM codes implemented since 1994 (including Conduct Disorder, Dementia, Somatoform Disorders)
The Merck Manuals have been standard medical reference sources for over 100 years providing detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion of symptoms and current therapy.
The publisher provides free access to some Merck Manuals:
Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479
