Skip to Main Content

Thesis Submission at Asa H. Gordon Library

This guide gives information to Graduate Level students who need to submit their completed Thesis to ProQuest as part of their graduation requirements.

Graduate students are asked to submit an electronic copy of their thesis through ProQuest ETD.  

This is the FINAL process of your thesis.  All reviews should be complete and your Committee Members will have already signed off their approval. The Library does NOT edit or format theses. You will need the following items to submit your thesis: 

  • A PDF copy of your dissertation/thesis. This must be a single file. If your manuscript is in Word or RTF format, it must be converted into a PDF.
  • Abstract
  • Optional Supplementary files (images, data, etc.) that are an integral part of the dissertation/thesis, but not part of the full text.
  • Advisor and other Committee Members' Names
  • Subject Categories - 1 - 3 that best describe your dissertation/thesis' subject area. (Subject Category list)

Create an Account

1. Visit the ProQuest ETD Administrator SSU account page directly or at https://etdadmin.com. 

2. Select Savannah State University in the school list if prompted. 

3. Create a new student account by providing your permanent (not student) email address and other identifying information. This email becomes your user name. Select a password and click "Create".

4. Check your email to confirm your account. 

(Click on image below to view screenshot)

Need Help? Watch this video tutorial. 

Submit Your Thesis

The submission process includes:

  1. Logging onto ProQuest ETD using your username and password.
  2. Selecting "Submit new dissertation/thesis" or "Submit My ETD" 
  3. Deciding publishing options and restrictions
    Details are provided below this box. In addition, the FAQs provide useful to help determine the best option for you and your research.
  4. Providing contact information
  5. Providing Thesis details (includes Title, Abstract, Subjects, Etc.)
  6. Providing a finalized PDF version of your manuscript.

Your submission is assigned to an administrator at the Library for review. The assigned administrator reviews your submission to ensure that your information—including your abstract and the PDF of your manuscript—is accurate, correct, and complete. You may be asked to make either minor or major revisions. When your submission passes review, the administrator will 'accept' it. Your ETD is then sent to ProQuest for publishing.

Need Help? Watch these series of video tutorials. 

ETD Approval Form Options

Part B: Publishing Restrictions

Part B of the Approval Form asks whether you would like to release your entire work immediately for access worldwide, or delay release in the library repository for one year.

If you choose to delay the release, only the full-text document will be withheld. Title, abstract, and keywords will be released immediately. Following graduation, you may contact ProQuest directly and ask them to extend your embargo period. Regardless of embargo period selected for ProQuest, all ETDs will be available in the library repository after one year.

Part C: Publishing Type

How would you like your work published on ProQuest? There are two choices: Traditional Publishing and Open Access Publishing. Regardless of your choice, your ETD can be freely accessible via Tiger Scholar Commons.

Traditional Publishing means that the full-text ETD will be freely accessible through the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database to academic subscribers. To other users, a 20-page preview will be available in ProQuest, with the option to buy the full-text document. 

Open Access Publishing means you agree to allow ProQuest to provide full-text access to your work free of charge, via their service PQDT Open. Access to the full-text in ProQuest is not limited to users at your institution or those who can pay for access.

Educate Yourself on Copyright

PDF document outlines copyright and your thesis.

Frequently Asked Questions

ProQuest provides answers to the most frequently asked Questions about this process.  They are far too many to list, but if you're still feeling uncertain, feel free to browse their information. 

Asa H. Gordon Library

Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479