Call The Library: (912) 358-4324
Text A Librarian: (912) 226-2479
Email your liaison librarian for subject-specific and in-depth assistance.
CLASS: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
COST: College of Science and Technology
Jennifer West: westj@savannahstate.edu
COE: College of Education
COBA: College of Business Administration
Jeremy Schwartz: schwartzj@savannahstate.edu
Asa H. Gordon Library Hours for Fall 2023
Monday-Thursday: 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: 3:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Every Thursday at 4 PM!
Interested in attending virtually? Register for the Teams link below!
| Date | Name | Description |
|---|---|---|
|
Thursday, January 18 4:00 PM |
GALILEO Basics: Why You Can't Google Everything |
Why bother with the library's databases when you have Google? Join Elle Davis for a refresher how to use GALILEO, the University System of Georgia's virtual library. GALILEO is an online portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or internet directories |
|
Thursday, January 25 4:00 PM |
Resource Sharing: Using Interlibrary Loan and GIL Express to Access Research Materials Beyond SSU & USG |
Resource Sharing specialist Janice Shipp will explain how you can borrow books from any school within the University System of Georgia with GIL Express and how to request articles, book chapters, or entire books through Interlibrary Loan. |
|
Thursday, February 1 4:00 PM |
Research Deep Dive 1: Choosing a Topic | Join Jeremy Schwartz for the first series of sessions on how to use the library for your research projects. This session will cover how to choose a topic and how to refine that topic into a research question. Background resources and mind mapping will be covered. |
|
Thursday, February 8 4:00 PM |
Citations: Basics and Beyond |
Come learn the basics of citations and style guides with Elle Davis! Bring any questions you may have about citing resources in MLA, APA, ASA, and Turabian. This is your chance to ask us about all citations! |
|
Thursday, February 15 4:00 PM |
SSU Proud: Exploring the Special Collections & SSU's History | Jennifer West will take you through some of the materials in SSU's Special Collections, the historical archives of the university. Learn some of SSU's history, see some treasures, and find out how you can see even more yourself! |
|
Thursday, February 22 4:00 PM |
Research Deep Dive 2: Finding Relevant Sources |
Once you have a research question, how do you find appropriate sources about it? In Jeremy Schwartz's second workshop in our research series, learn how to use keywords to search library databases, good databases to search, and tips and tricks on finding articles and books for your literature review. |
|
Thursday, February 29 4:00 PM |
Research Deep Dive 3: Evaluating Your Sources (The CRAAP Test and More) | Has a friend ever sent you an article that seems fishy? Learn about the CRAAP test, a tool for evaluating information sources and other resources to make sure you're staying on top of fake news, misleading articles, and sources that don't fit with college-level assignments with Jeremy Schwartz. |
|
Thursday, March 7 4:00 PM |
Research Deep Dive 4: Organizing Your Research, an Overview |
Once you've chosen a topic, found your sources, and evaluated the information in them, what next? Join Jeremy Schwartz to learn how to organize your research to make drafting and finalizing your final project a cinch. |
|
Thursday, March 14 4:00 PM |
Word is the Word: Formatting Papers Using APA and MLA Styles in Microsoft Word |
Jennifer West will walk students through how to make formatting their papers in the online Microsoft Word 365 according to the MLA and APA style guides a breeze. If you have questions about using the desktop Microsoft Word or Microsoft Excel, feel free to bring those to the workshop too! |
|
Thursday, March 28 4:00 PM |
The Return of GALILEO: Getting the Most Out of Your Search | Learn more about advanced search techniques with GALILEO with Jennifer West. |
|
Thursday, April 4 4:00 PM |
PowerNotes 101 |
PowerNotes is a free tool offered through GALILEO that helps keep track of citation information on websites, academic databases, and legal databases. Come learn how to make the most of this resource to keep your research projects organized with Jennifer West. |
|
Thursday, April 11 4:00 PM |
LibraryGPT: Using and Citing AI on Campus |
Come explore the ethics of using generative AI with Elle Davis. Learn about SSU's allowed use policy (hint: not all courses allow AI!), as well as how to identify and avoid misinformation from AI generated content shared online. |
|
Thursday, April 18 4:00 PM |
Citations Revisited |
Join Elle Davis to review citations once more before finals season starts and answer any further questions you may have about citing resources in MLA, APA, ASA, and Turabian before turning in your research papers. |
|
Thursday, April 25 4:00 PM |
Research Round Table: Finals Reference Q&A | Just in time for finals! Join the librarians again for an open reference session. Bring any and all questions, comments, and concerns you have about your finals projects, and we will do our very best to answer them. |
Please email any questions to davise@savannahstate.edu.
The theme for National Library Week 2024 illustrates the idea that in our always-online world, libraries give us a green light to something truly special: a place to connect with others, learn new skills, and focus on what matters most. At the library’s author talks, workshops, and book clubs, Americans can connect with fellow enthusiasts and local experts while building relationships that will last a lifetime at libraries across the country. No matter where you find yourself on the roadmap through life’s journey—earning your degree, preparing for a new career, launching a business, or raising a family—the library provides an inclusive and supportive community where everyone belongs.
Monday, April 8: Right to Read Day, the State of America's Libraries Report is released, including Top Ten Frequently Challenged Books of 2022. At 10 AM, kick off the week with a livestream of the National Library Week Proclamation on Gordon Library’s Instagram, @asahgordonlibrary!
Tuesday, April 9: National Library Workers Day, a day for library staff, users, administrators, and Friends groups to recognize the valuable contributions made by all library workers. Visit the library's lobby to learn more about the history of the library and past Asa H. Gordon Library workers!
Wednesday, April 10: National Library Outreach Day, a day to celebrate library outreach and the dedicated library professionals who are meeting their patrons where they are. Find the library's table at King-Frazier and the Student Union to play games and win prizes from 11 AM - 2 PM!
Thursday, April 11: Take Action for Libraries Day, a day to rally advocates to support libraries. Come to the library's art gallery for a series of book talks from SSU alum, faculty, and friend authors from 1:00 - 2:30 PM! Attend just one or two or sit in on all three to hear from authors that Asa H. Gordon Library loves.
Friday, April 12: At 11 AM, the Georgia Poetry Circuit presents a craft talk by poet Chen Chen, followed by a peek inside this year's edition of Estuary Creative Arts Journal, an SSU publication that showcases student, faculty, and staff art.
Curious about current library events? Learn more below.
Weekly Workshops - Our current (Spring 2024) workshop series offers a new installment of library workshop programming almost every Thursday at 4 PM, hybrid, via Teams and in Gordon Library Room 207. STRIPES credit is available for all attendees.
Movie Nights - Join us as we keep the library open late and show a movie from our collection. High chance of snacks at these events!
National Library Week - Join us during the week of April 7-13, 2024 in appreciation and celebration of all that libraries offer. Learn about pathways to a library career, mingle with students, librarians and faculty at a front-lawn social, and enjoy other special activities TBA.
Research on the Run - Look for your SSU librarians at the Student Union, King-Frazier building and other locations across campus. We bring the library to YOU with news and event announcements and friendly assistance.
Re:Sources @ SSU Libraries - A series of workshops co-hosted by the Gordon and Satellite Libraries, from Fall 2019 through Spring 2020. "Discover essential resources and bring your research to the next level." Unless otherwise noted, workshops were open to all on a drop-in basis.
Download fliers for library events below. SSU faculty, staff and students can print and distribute these freely and spread the word!
We are transferring our recordings from WebEx to YouTube. Please check back in the next few weeks as we upload the current workshops and highlights from previous semesters.
Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479