Skip to main content

Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library: Collections (Finding Aids)

Information about how to conduct research at the Asa H. Gordon Library's Special Collections.

About Finding Aids

Ogden, Fayoyin, and DenardFinding aids are description of records that assist researchers gain access to and understand archival materials. Finding aids can be detailed lists but most are a summation of what the collection holds and subject coverage. 

Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library is undertaking an effort to create finding aids for its manuscript and photographic collections.

 

Digital Collections

tigers roarDigital Archives
The Digital Archives at Savannah State University chronicle more than one hundred years of the University's history through documents, photographs, and publications. This collection features University publications including, the college bulletin, commencement programs, student newspaper (Tiger’s Roar), faculty research, and a collection of college yearbooks.

Tiger Scholar Commons
is the Institutional Repository of Savannah State University.

The mission of Tiger Scholar Commons is to collect, preserve, and provide access to the creative and scholarly output of the University community. Maintaining a central repository of digital works encourages the exchange of research across disciplines and will increase the university’s visibility, status, and public value on a global level. Tiger Scholar Commons is a service of Asa H. Gordon Library and is a partner in the statewide Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR), a GALILEO initiative.

 

Featured GALILEO Databases:

Savannah Historic Newspapers Archive
he Savannah Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to three newspaper titles published in Savannah from 1809 to 1880. Consisting of over 83,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date. The website includes the following Savannah newspaper titles: Savannah Georgian (1819-1856), Savannah Morning News (1868-1880), Savannah Republican (1809-1868).

Ancestry Library Edition
ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry® Library Edition, one of the most important genealogical collections available today. It has unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada, Europe, Australia and other areas of the world! This collection, with thousands of databases and billions of indexed names, is essential to having a broad genealogy collection.

 

Realia Collection

Realia refers to three-dimensional objects that have enduring historical value. Special Collections has a collection of sweatshirts, caps, buttons, pens, cups, cap & gowns, cheerleader and band uniforms, to document the University's history. 

Realia is frequently used in Archival exhibits in and around the Asa H. Gordon Library.

Manuscript Collection

The manuscripts collection contains papers of faculty, staff, and alumni related to the University’s growth and development. 

Butler Family Papers

Gordon Family Papers

letter to professor thigpen
Letter to Professor Thigpen 
Richard R. Wright, Sr.
Georgia State Industrial College for Colored Youths
October 21, 1892

Book Collection

The book collection contains published works by faculty, staff, and alumni of Savannah State University.  Also included are works by various authors that have been donated to Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library.