Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library

Please note that while we try to accommodate walk-in researchers, we may not have available staff to serve you without an appointment. Please see librarian Jennifer West's booking page to select a time. If you do not see anything that works for you, email specialcollections@savannahstate.edu and we will try to accommodate you.

Mission Statement
Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library has been established to collect, organize, describe, preserve, and make available University materials of permanent institutional and historical value. Special Collections will further encourage the dissemination of knowledge pertaining to the origins of programs and goals of the University by providing facilities for the retention, preservation, servicing, and research of Savannah State University documents. In addition, Special Collections will serve as a research source for the study of the University’s history by members of the University community and the scholarly community at large.

--
Special Collections at Asa H. Gordon Library serves as a repository for materials documenting the history of Savannah State University.

The collections include documents, manuscripts, photographs, campus publications, and books by Savannah State faculty, staff, and alumni. Special Collections also presents exhibits and forums for lectures, presentation and academic discussions.

Major Richard R. Wright, Sr.
First President, 1891-1921
Georgia State Industrial College for Colored Youths