Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Services

A guide to borrowing materials through GIL Express and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for Savannah State faculty, staff, and students

Interlibrary Loan Office

 

 

 

Asa H. Gordon Library's Interlibrary loan office is responsible for the resource sharing activities, consisting of GIL Express and Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

GIL Express:  A resource sharing service offered at all libraries within the University System of Georgia (USG) that provides current students, faculty, and staff access to all eligible circulating material at USG libraries.  The library users submit the request via the GIL-Find catalog. The ILL staff prepares items for pickup and also prepares items for return to the lending library.

Interlibrary Loan consists of the ILL Borrowing and ILL Lending units: 

  • ILL Borrowing:  A service that provides current students, faculty, and staff access to resources from other  institutions when they are not available in Asa H. Gordon Library or USG Libraries collections or our databases.
  • ILL Lending: A service that provides materials from Asa H. Gordon Library's collection to other institutions across the country and articles internationally.

GIL Express

GIL Express logo

GIL Express is an innovative resource sharing initiative that allows students, faculty, and staff access to all eligible circulating books at all USG libraries.  Patrons can order books, pick them up, and return them to Asa H. Gordon Library or any USG institution.  See Instructions for Submitting a GIL Express Request.  This service is always free.

Other types of resources, including journal articles or books not available in the USG system, may be obtained using the ILL service. 

Interlibrary Loan

 

The ILL Borrowing Unit provides the SSU community access to resources from other institutions across the country when they are not available in Asa H. Gordon Library or USG Libraries collections or databases (eBooks, eJournals).  See Instructions for Submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.