Resource Sharing Services

Interlibrary Loan Lending

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Lending Unit of the ILL Office provides resources from Asa H. Gordon Library's collection to other institutions across the country.  We do not lend books internationally; however, we do supply photocopies internationally. 

• If you are not a Savannah State University faculty, student, or staff but want access to materials owned by Asa H. Gordon Library, contact your library's ILL office.  Your library will send your request(s) to our lending unit.
• If you are a librarian/library staff from another institution and need materials from Asa H. Gordon Library for your patrons, please send request(s) to our lending unit via OCLC.

To comply with national, state, and international codes, all interlibrary lending transactions follow the protocols established in the Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States and ILL Code for Georgia Libraries. When providing articles/photocopies internationally, we follow IFLA's International Lending and Document Delivery protocols: Principles and Guidelines for Procedure. 

See the OCLC ILL Policies Directory for complete details of our ILL policies.

We accept requests from:

• Academic, public, corporate, law, and specialized libraries
• US government agencies 
• Non-profit organizations 
• International libraries (we do not provide loans; only articles)

Our OCLC symbol:

• GSS

We accept requests via:

• OCLC (Worldshare ILL, ILLiad, Tipasa, CLIO, etc)
• ALA Interlibrary Loan Request Form

Loan Period:

• Books: 
  • 1-month loan period  
    • We do not lend returnable items (books, DVDs, etc.) internationally
• DVDs with the following restrictions:
  • 7-day loan period 
  • In-Library Use Only
  • No Renewal
  • Return via USPS tracking (USPS tracking is free if sent library rate/mail) or traceable courier, i.e., FedEx, UPS, etc.

Renewals:

• Unless restricted, we grant renewals on a case-by-case basis. 
• Renewals must be requested before the due date.

Recalls:

• All loans are subject to recall.  
• Recall notices are sent via OCLC and email as needed.
• Recalled items should be returned ASAP via priority mail, UPS, FedEx, etc.

Circulating Items, Articles/Photocopies:

• We lend most item types from our circulating collections.

  • Books housed in the library's Main, Re-Classed, and African American Collections with imprint dates before 1950 will be exempt from interlibrary loans if it is determined their loss (meaning if the borrower were to lose or fail to return) would be detrimental to the support of academic disciplines and scholarly research activities at Savannah State University.

  • We do not lend books internationally.

• We fill requests for articles and photocopies from our print collections. 

  • We provide articles from e-Journals if our licensing agreement permits.
  • We fill requests for photocopies, both nationally and internationally.

For availability of material:

Please check our online catalog at http://gilfind.savannahstate.edu

Fees: 

Loans:  No charge to libraries that participate in the consortia listed below and those whose OCLC ILL Policy state they do not charge for loans.

• GOLD (We provide loans free)
• LVIS (We provide loans free and a maximum of 30 pages per request at no cost) 
• LYRA (We provide loans free) 
• NO$$ (We provide loans and photocopies free)
• SO6 (We provide photocopies free) 
• SOLINE (We provide loans free)

Others: If your charge exceeds our base fee, $20IFM, we charge what you charge. 

Copies/Scans:  Our base fee is $20IFM for 1-50 pages; $25IFM for 51-100 pages. If your charge for copies exceeds our base fee, we charge what you charge. We can only provide e-journals based on our institution's licensing agreements.

We are a reciprocal library for loans and copies/scans.

• No charge to institutions whose OCLC ILL policy clearly states they do not charge.
• For those who charge and those whose OCLC ILL policy does not clearly state they do not charge, our base fee is $20 per request.

Payment Method:

• We prefer IFM billing

Non-circulating items:

• Microfilm
• Reference Collection
• Special Collections
• Whole Issues of Journals/Magazines

Our Delivery Method:

When sending materials to a requesting institution:

• Copies - Article Exchange
• Loans - USPS Tracking, GIL Express/Pines Courier 

Return Delivery Methods:

When returning our materials, the borrowing institution should return via:

• Stat Courier (University System of Georgia Libraries and Georgia PINES Libraries) 
• USPS Tracking (No additional cost for tracking if mailed library mail/rate)
• Traceable Courier, i.e., FedEx, UPS, etc.

Lost and Damaged Materials:

According to the ILL code for the United States and Georgia, the requesting library assumes responsibility for borrowed material from the time it leaves the supplying library until it has been returned to and received by the supplying library.

• If damage or loss of items occurs, we will bill your institution for the replacement cost. 
• We will also accept a replacement copy of an exact copy or updated edition as long as it is in good condition or new.