Open Access Resources and Research Materials that have been made available to the general public, free of charge: open access books, eBooks, articles, textbooks, images, videos, etc.
Books & Government Documents
- Digital Public Library of America - Discover 47,681,069 eBooks, images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
- Directory of Open Access Books - Over 64,500 academic peer-reviewed books.
- The Free Library - Free, full-text versions of classic literary works from hundreds of celebrated authors, whose biographies, images, and famous quotations can also be found on the site.
- Georgia Open Stacks - This site includes open access books published by the University of Georgia Press, author-generated ancillary materials, and educational resources developed with support from the press.
- Google Books - Searches the world's most comprehensive index of full text of books that Google has scanned, converted to text, and stored in its digital database.
- HathiTrust's Digital Library - A partnership of major research institutions and libraries that provides access to millions of digitized materials, including books, documents, and manuscripts.
- Internet Archive - a non-profit digital library, started in 1996, offering free universal access to books, movies, music, & computer software to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public as well as 514 billion archived web pages. Today the archive contains over 40 million books and texts. See FAQs about Borrowing from the Lending Library – Internet Archive Help Center
- Online Books Library - A database of over 2 million open access books hosted by the University of Pennsylvania.
- Open Research Library - Central hosting user-friendly platform of the most comprehensive collection of more than 14,000 peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
- Project Gutenburg - An online library of 60,000 + eBooks, many of which are in the public domain. Users can download books or read them online.
Conference Papers
- OpenProceedings - A service to the scientific community that originated from the desire of two major Computer Science conferences: (International Conference on Extending Database Technology (EDBT), International Conference on Database Theory (ICDT)) to make their papers available to the general public for free.
General Resources
- Digital Library of Georgia - Shares materials from libraries, museums, and others in Georgia and the U.S. online.
- Google Scholar - A freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and discipline.
- Open Textbooks Library - Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.
- World Digital Library - A free online archive of over 19,000 culturally significant primary source materials from around the world. It is an international collaboration between the Library of Congress, UNESCO, and 158 libraries, museums, archives, and other partners across 60 countries.
Government
- Archives Library Information Center (ALIC) - The ALIC provide links to government publications in the National Archives, gateways and guides to federal information, finding aids and indexes to government documents, federal directories, and other government publications.
- Government Publishing Office (GPO) - A free service of the United States GPO, which is a federal agency in the legislative branch and provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Internet Archive Free Books, Movies, Software, Music, Websites, and more
- Internet Archive Audio Archive - This library contains 14.7 million audio recordings (including 240,000 live concerts) ranging from alternative news programming to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.
- Internet Archive eBooks and Texts Archive - Offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 2.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
- Internet Archive Image - contains 4.4 million digital images uploaded by Archive users which range from maps to astronomical imagery to photographs of artwork. Many of these images are available for free download.
- Internet Archive Live Music - The Live Music Archive is a community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format, along with the convenience of on-demand streaming.
- Internet Archive Movie Archive - This library contains 8.4 million free movies, films, and videos uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
- Internet Archive TV News - This research library service enables you to search across a collection including 2.4 million television news programs dating back to 2009 for research and educational purposes.
- Internet Archive Software Collection - Is the largest vintage and historical software library in the world, providing instant access to millions of programs, CD-ROM images, documentation and multimedia.
- Internet Archive Wayback Machine (web pages) - Free online tool that lets you go "back in time" to explore more than 794 billion web pages saved over time to see what websites worldwide looked like at points in time.
Journals & Articles
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - A directory of open access journals currently numbering at about 14,5000 titles. The included journals are considered to be high quality & are peer reviewed.
- The Free Library - A massive collection of periodicals from hundreds of leading publications covering Business and Industry, Communications, Entertainment, Health, Humanities, Law, Government, Politics, Recreation and Leisure, Science and Technology, and Social Sciences. This collection includes millions of articles dating back to 1984 as well as newly published articles that are added to the site daily.
- Open Access Button - Include all of the aggregated repositories in the world, hybrid articles, open access journals, and those on authors personal pages to legally and freely read millions of articles.
- PubMed Central - is a free full-text archive of more than 8 million biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Repositories
- Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDoar) - A global UK-based Directory of Open Access Repositories that list open access respositories and provide free, open, access to academic outputs and resources. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, content, software or type of material held.
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Repository - A digital library of scientific literature and research produced by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Through curated collections researchers can access documents and materials related to specific areas of research. Additionally, full text and other search options make the entirety of the repository accessible to users. This repository is retained indefinitely available to researchers, academics and the general public.
Research Papers, Theses & Dissertations
- ARXIV - Open access to over 1 million research papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. These are often author versions of articles intended for publication in scholarly publications.
- COnnecting REpositories (CORE) - CORE is the world’s largest aggregator of open access research papers from repositories and journals.
- EThOS - UK’s national thesis service with approximately 440,000 theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 160,000 of these provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from EThOS database or via links to the institutions own repository. Of the remaining 240,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility.
- IUPUI ScholarWorks - Shares over 25,000 articles, posters, reports, theses, educational materials and historical documents submitted by members of the campus community.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations (NDLTD) - An international organization that promotes creation, access to, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from academic institutions around the world. The NDLTD Union Catalog provides access to over a million ETDs.
- OhioLink Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETD) Center - A online database of Ohio's undergraduate, masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full text is also available if it was submitted.
- PQDT Open - Provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline and view the complete text in PDF format. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access.
Textbooks
