A database can be thought of as an electronic filing system with organized and searchable contents. Because databases can contain so much information, they are an excellent place to begin research. When searching, keep the following tips in mind:
1. Select the "Full-Text" option so that all the results will be complete. If you find the citation of an article (without the full-text), try submitting an ILL request to receive a copy of the article.
2. Select "Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed" to ensure that the results are articles that have been reviewed by peers of the author. The author's peers are typically other experts within the same field, and this gives the information in the article more credibility.
3. Start with simple search terms and then use filters to narrow the search results. Subject headings and other limiters can be very helpful!
The Discover GALILEO search will search hundreds of databases at once and return articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, trade magazines, popular magazines, eBooks, dissertations, conference proceedings, videos, and more. Searching here will give you a wide range of results, which can be helpful when you are starting your research.
As you refine your research topic, subject databases can become more useful, as you are limiting what you are searching to only publications in your field of research. See the recommended databases below.
Academic Search Complete: a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CREDO REFERENCE:Reference resource that includes text, images, audio files, and videos. Covers Art, Business, Food & Beverage, General Reference, Geography, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, & Technology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Sociological Collection: includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
PsycINFO: American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries, and ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Research Library (at ProQuest): provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Social Science Journals (ProQuest): a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including: addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.
JSTOR: a not–for–profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. We use information technology and tools to increase productivity and facilitate new forms of scholarship.
SocINDEX with Full Text features over 1 million records with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This database also contains abstracts for over 1,000 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. Indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is also included. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all sub disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence, and many others.
To access GALILEO database resources from off-campus, you will need to enter your Tigerworld credentials.
Some links will automatically bring up a Savannah State log-in screen for your Tigerworld credentials.
At the GALILEO main page https://www.galileo.usg.edu/, you may see a "Find your Library or School" box in the middle of the screen. Type in Savannah State University then click GO to bring up the Tigerworld log-in screen.
If you are having trouble logging in, please chat with a librarian by clicking below or email westj@savannahstate.edu if the chat is not available.
Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479