Most students decide on their topic first then try to find out if there has been anything written on the subject. WRONG! It is necessary to do some planning and preliminary research before deciding!
It is important to budget your time wisely when it comes to research. An "assignment calculator" can keep you on track by providing general "due" dates and directions for the steps of the research process. (It does not replace your instructor's deadlines or directions.)
Research Assignment Calculator
The table above illustrates how a research question develops from a broad topic to a focused research question. A concept map should help you identify a sub-topic and possible issues or problems.
Use the resources shared in this guide as well as preliminary research to explore "Autism Spectrum Disorder" further. Preliminary research will provide some context to help you consider a possible research question.
Getting a general overview and building context for your topic are some of the first steps to doing research. Try looking at encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference materials to get a general overview and clear definitions on your topic. "Tertiary" resources like these:
Autism Spectrum Disorders by 
Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis by
In this volume, some of the field's foremost practitioners offer their expert perspective on a range of topics within ABA. Each chapter is fully referenced and contains a set of reading objectives to facilitate deeper understanding and further discussion of its subject area. While these discussions will be of particular interest to academic behavior analysts and graduate students, clinicians and other practitioners will find the research review helpful and informative.
The Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders by
Approximately 500 entries address the different types of autism, causes and treatments, institutions, associations, leading scientists and research, social impact, and much more. The book tackles a complex and daunting subject in clear language suitable for the general reader. and research, a glossary, and a bibliography.
Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Handbook for Parents and Professionals by
Contains original entries on the topic of autism spectrum disorders. These entries include facts about disabilities, personal and historic perspectives, interventions, assessments, educational methods, trusted internet resources, and national organizations, and it outlines the contributions of founding researchers and other professionals. It also includes lesson plans that can be implemented in a home, school, or community setting. Also included are personal perspectives from individuals with ASD and their parents.
Austism Spectrum Conditions: A Guide by
A comprehensive introduction to working with people with autism spectrum conditions, which addresses their needs across the lifespan and across the range of intellectual functioning. Though the content is grounded in evidence-based practice and recent research, the text is intended to be as practical as possible, offering insight into the everyday lives of people with autism spectrum conditions and how staff can best support them.
Use the resources on evidence-based practices below to gather some background information on a topic before you dig into doing some serious research.
Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479