Research Guides: BEHV 3710: Autism Spectrum Disorders: Find Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles

REMEMBER!!!

Make sure you check the Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journals box to limit your results to the appropriate resources.

Check the Full Text box to limit your results to available items.

Tips for Searching

Think of the best keywords to enter and be ready to change them as you pursue your topic. Try using a subject encyclopedia or dictionary for specialized terminology. Get ideas for new keywords by carefully examining the title, abstract and subject fields in your first results.

Try these search features:

Use quotes to search for phrases (example: "developmental psychology”)
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow your search
Use truncation (example: psych* will find psychiology, psychologist, psychological)
Set search limits such as scholarly journals, full-text, or document type
Sort results by date or relevance
Browse subject headings

Quick Search PsycINFO

PsycINFO

Limit Your Results

Full Text

Peer Reviewed

GALILEO Discover

Relevant Databases

Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Psychology Journals provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1,000 titles. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. Additionally, ProQuest Psychology Journals includes 4,000 full-text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines.
ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors. Titles include:

• The American Journal of Psychiatry
• Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics
• The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry
• Development and Psychopathology
• The Psychological Record
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries, and ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a full-text database targeted for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals on topics, such as child and adolescent psychology, counseling, anthropology and experimental methods.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.

Off-Campus Access

To access GALILEO database resources from off-campus, you will need to enter your Tigerworld credentials.

Some links will automatically bring up a Savannah State log-in screen for your Tigerworld credentials.

At the GALILEO main page https://www.galileo.usg.edu/, you may see a "Find your Library or School" box in the middle of the screen. Type in Savannah State University then click GO to bring up the Tigerworld log-in screen.

If you are having trouble logging in, please chat with a librarian by clicking below or email westj@savannahstate.edu if the chat is not available.

chat loading...

I have a citation for my article, what do I do next?

1. Identify the title of the journal or periodical in the citation. The journal title is usually italicized.

2. Check for full-text holdings in electronic format using the GIL-FIND Journal Search.

Type in the TITLE of the journal or periodical from the citation into the search box.
Click on the green ONLINE ACCESS link to see the databases that have this journal.
Check the dates of online availability, and select the database that includes the date in your citation.
Click on the year and then volume/issue number in the database and scroll to find the article title.

Still cannot find it?
Contact your liaison librarian for help or submit an interlibrary loan request!