Research Guides: Affordable Learning @ Savannah State University: An initiative to promote student success by providing affordable alternatives to textbooks : Engineering Technology

Open Textbooks - ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY

From Algorithms to Z-Scores: Probabilistic and Statistical Modeling in Computer Science by Norm Matloff
Publication Date: 2008
The materials here form a textbook for a course in mathematical probability and statistics for computer science students. "Why is this course different from all other courses?" * Computer science examples are used throughout, in areas such as: computer networks; data and text mining; computer security; remote sensing; computer performance evaluation; software engineering; data management; etc. * The R statistical/data manipulation language is used throughout. Since this is a computer science audience, a greater sophitication in programming can be assumed. It is recommended that my R tutorial, R for Programmers, be used as a supplement. * Throughout the units, mathematical theory and applications are interwoven, with a strong emphasis on modeling: What do probabilistic models really mean, in real-life terms? How does one choose a model? How do we assess the practical usefulness of models? * There is considerable discussion of the intuition involving probabilistic concepts. However, all models and so on are described precisely in terms of random variables and distributions. For topical coverage, see the book's detailed table of contents.
CAD-CAM & Rapid prototyping Application Evaluation by Miltiadis A. Boboulos
Call Number: 2011
This is a free, online textbook from Bookboon.com. "CAD-CAM systems are probably the most significant development in the field of new technology related to engineering, design and drafting in all technical spheres. These systems find application in all branches of modern design. In current publication the author describes via review, analysis and case studies the state of art in the selection, application and implementation of such systems. New manufacturing technologies that build parts on a layer-by-layer basis are also analyzed. Using these technologies, manufacturing time for parts is rapid. A host of related technologies that are used to fabricate physical objects directly from Computer-Aided Design data sources are reviewed."
Engineering Thermodynamics by Tarik Al-Shemmeri
Publication Date: 2011
Thermodynamics is an essential subject taught to all science and engineering students. If the coverage of this subject is restricted to theoretical analysis, student will resort to memorising the facts in order to pass the examination. Therefore, this book is set out with the aim to present this subject from an angle of demonstration of how these laws are used in practical situation. This book is designed for the virtual reader in mind, it is concise and easy to read, yet it presents all the basic laws of thermodynamics in a simplistic and straightforward manner; plus many worked examples and a good section of unsolved tutorial problems.
A First Course in Electrical and Computer Engineering by Louis Scharf
Publication Date: 2010
This free textbook was written for an experimental freshman course, but is now an elective that most students take before the circuits course for electrical and computer engineering students. "The first three chapters of this book provide a fairly complete coverage of complex numbers, the functions ex and ejθ, and phasors. Our department philosophy is that these topics must be understood if a student is to succeed in electrical and computer engineering. These three chapters may also be used as a supplement to a circuits course. A measured pace of presentation, taking between sixteen and eighteen lectures, is sufficient to cover all but the advanced sections in Complex Numbers through Phasors."
A First Course in Fluid Mechanics for Engineers by Buddhi N. Hewakandamby
Publication Date: 2014
A good knowledge of Fluid mechanics is essential for Chemical, Mechanical and Civil engineers. As a result it is taught at a very early stage in degree courses on those disciplines. A First Course in Fluid Mechanics covers the basics of the engineering fluid mechanics without delving into deeper more mathematical concepts. Building from most basic concepts such as physical properties of fluids, it covers the topics in fluid statics and dynamics. Hydrostatic pressure, buoyancy and forces on immersed bodies are discussed under fluid statics. Under fluid dynamics, Bernoulli’s principle is introduced. Furthermore, the nature of fluid flows is discussed in engineering context. Laminar and turbulent flows in pipes are explained in detail. Finally hydraulic design is discussed paying attention to pump capacity calculations. This textbook is leveled at first year undergraduate students.
Fundamentals of Compressible Flow Mechanics by Genick Bar-Meir
Publication Date: 2008
This book describes the fundamentals of compressible flow phenomena for engineers and others. This book is designed to replace the book(s) or instructor's notes for the compressible flow in (mostly) undergraduate classes for engineering/science students. The structure of this book is such that many of the chapters can be used independently.
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering I by Don Johnson
Publication Date: 2008
The course focuses on the creation, manipulation, transmission, and reception of information by electronic means. Elementary signal theory; time- and frequency-domain analysis; Sampling Theorem. Digital information theory; digital transmission of analog signals; error-correcting codes.
High Performance Computing by Charles Severance
Publication Date: 1998
This is a free, open textbook that is part of the Connexions collection at Rice University. The purpose of this book, High Performance Computing has always been to teach new programmers and scientists about the basics of High Performance Computing. This book is for learners with a basic understanding of modern computer architecture, not advanced degrees in computer engineering, as it is an easily understood introduction and overview of the topic.
Programming Languages: Application and Interpretation by Shriram Krishnamurthi
Publication Date: 2008
This book unites two approaches to teaching programming languages, one based on a survey of languages and the other on writing definitional interpreters. It has been used as a textbook at over fifteen institutions worldwide, and is referenced by non-academic users on the Web. The book is updated approximately every year.
Project Management for Scientists and Engineers by Andrew R. Barron, Merrie Barron
Publication Date: 2010
This is a free, open textbook that is part of the Connexions collection at Rice University. According to the author, "Irrespective of your future career in science and engineering you will be involved in projects and an awareness of the factors that enable a successful project is important for all team members. This (book) is not aimed at making you a certified project manager, but to provide the skills that will allow you to be a more effective project team member and also when you are dragged screaming and kicking into the role of accidental project manager."

Supplemental Open Access Resources

Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics Software

-This site makes available some software developed by the faculty and students in the Civil Engineering Division of the Department of Civil and Mechanical Engineering, United States Military Academy, West Point, NY. Intended for use in undergraduate engineering education, three software programs that can be downloaded are: CME-Truss, a general-purpose truss analysis program, the Visual Stress Transfromer, an animated stress-transformation visualization program and Trebuchect for Windows, simulation software for the dynamic analysis of a medieval siege catapult. The West Point Bridge Designer is also available.

Computer Architecture Tutorial

- This tutorial introduces undergraduate students to computer architecture concepts. It contains many examples that give students basic problems and solutions to help them understand the basic concepts.

Computer Fraud Challenge

- The Computer Fraud Challenge is based on the television show Hollywood Squares. Contestants agree or disagree with responses provided by game celebrities. The activity illustrates a variety of hacking and social engineering techniques that compromise confidential information, as well as malware that harms computers.

Games for Basic Electronics Skills

- Fourteen Flash games to help students learn some basic electronics knowledge and skills, such as resistor color codes, engineering prefixes, binary-hex conversions, electrical units and abbreviations, Greek alphabet, capacitor codes, schematic symbols, multimeter operation, and oscilloscope operation.

The Higher Education Academy: Engineering Subject Centre

- This one year project, in partnership with the JISC, will form both a static and a linked, self-sustaining dynamic collection of Open Educational Resources relating to Low-Carbon Engineering practices.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students

- From the author: "These guidelines are designed to help you, the engineering or science student, perform writing assignments in your laboratory, design, and technical communication classes. In these guidelines, you will find discussions of several common documents in engineering writing and scientific writing."