Research Guides: Affordable Learning @ Savannah State University: An initiative to promote student success by providing affordable alternatives to textbooks : Mathematics

Mathematics Textbooks

College Algebra by Carl Stitz, Jeff Zeager
Publication Date: 2013
College Algebra is an introductory text for a college algebra survey course. The material is presented at a level intended to prepare students for Calculus while also giving them relevant mathematical skills that can be used in other classes. The authors describe their approach as "Functions First," believing introducing functions first will help students understand new concepts more completely.

Each section includes homework exercises, and the answers to most computational questions are included in the text (discussion questions are open-ended). Graphing calculators are used sparingly and only as a tool to enhance the Mathematics, not to replace it.
Algebra: Abstract and Concrete by Frederick M. Goodman
Publication Date: 2014
This book provides a thorough introduction to "modern'' or "abstract'' algebra at a level suitable for upper-level undergraduates and beginning graduate students. The book addresses the conventional topics: groups, rings, fields, and linear algebra, with symmetry as a unifying theme.
A First Course in Linear Algebra by Robert Beezer
Publication Date: 2004
A First Course in Linear Algebra is an introductory textbook aimed at college-level sophomores and juniors. Typically such a student will have taken calculus, but this is not a prerequisite. The book begins with systems of linear equations, then covers matrix algebra, before taking up finite-dimensional vector spaces in full generality. The final chapter covers matrix representations of linear transformations, through diagonalization, change of basis and Jordan canonical form.
Calculus by Gilbert Strang
Publication Date: 1991
Published in 1991 by Wellesley-Cambridge Press, the book is a useful resource for educators and self-learners alike. It is well organized, covers single variable and multivariable calculus in depth, and is rich with applications.
College Trigonometry by Carl Stitz, Jeff Zeager
Publication Date: 2011
In-depth coverage of the foundations and applications of Trigonometry.
Collaborative Statistics by Barbara Illowsky, Susan Dean
Publication Date: 2012
Intermediate algebra is the only prerequisite for this textbook. It focuses on applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it. The text is named Collaborative Statistics because students learn best by doing. In fact, they learn best by working in small groups. The old saying “two heads are better than one” truly applies here.

Supplemental Materials

An award-winning site concerning the history of mathematics. In-depth coverage of numerous people, topics, mathematical curves, and more. Extensively cross-linked; powerful search engine. Rich and growing source of materials.

Algebra Study Guide with Videos

OpenAlgebra.com is a free online algebra study guide and problem solver designed to supplement any algebra course. There are hundreds of solved problems, video solutions, sample test questions, worksheets, and interactives.

Visual Calculus: Applications of Integration

A collection of tutorials (Flash and Java) on various applications of integration including area between two curves, volumes, arc length, work and centers of mass.

Programming in C

An introductory website that covers the key features of the C language and its usage. The first five chapters help in thoroughly understanding the C syntax. The latter chapters focus on more complex concepts of the C language.