Research Guides: Affordable Learning @ Savannah State University: An initiative to promote student success by providing affordable alternatives to textbooks : Business Administration

Open Textbooks - Business Administration

Core Concepts of Marketing by John Burnett
Publication Date: 2008
Demonstrates how companies use marketing. Provides specific examples in text discussions, chapter openers, the Integrated Marketing and Newsline boxes, and the end of chapter cases.
Essentials of Marketing by Manmohan Joshi
ISBN: 9788740302066
Marketing aims at finding out what consumers want, then planning and developing a product or service that will attract consumers. It also ensures that the right product is available at the right place and at the right price. More often than not, modern marketing – through an aggressive advertising campaign – tries to create a demand for a product or service that consumers are encouraged to buy in order to make a change in their lifestyle.
Exploring Business by Collins; Karen Collins
ISBN: 9780982043004
Publication Date: 2012
The author's goals in writing Exploring Business Version 2.0 were simple: (1) introduce students to business in an exciting way and (2) provide faculty with a fully developed teaching package that allows them to do the former.
Financial Accounting by Joe Hoyle, C. J. Skender
ISBN: 9780982361832
Publication Date: 2012
This book is intended for an undergraduate or MBA level Financial Accounting course. It covers the standard topics in a standard sequence, utilizing the Socratic method of asking and answering questions. Read the authors' preface or watch a podcast. Joe Ben Hoyle is co-author of two current market-leading advanced accounting textbooks with McGraw-Hill. He and and co-author CJ Skender have both won numerous teaching awards, and both were recently recognized by BusinessWeek as top undergraduate professors.
Information Systems: A Manager's Guide to Harnessing Technology by John Gallaugher
Publication Date: 2011
The text offers a proven approach that has garnered student praise, increased IS enrollment, and engaged students to think deeper and more practically about the space where business and technology meet. Every topic is related to specific business examples, so students gain an immediate appreciation of its importance. Rather than lead with technical topics, the book starts with strategic thinking, focusing on big-picture issues that have confounded experts but will engage students.
International Business by Mason Carpenter
Publication Date: 2011
Carpenter and Dunung’s International Business: The Opportunities and Challenges of a Flat World provides exploration into building, leading, and thriving in global organizations in an increasingly flat world. The authors define ”Flat world“ as one where service industries that dwarf manufacturing industries in terms of scale and scope, an Internet that pervades life and work, and networks define modern businesses, whether service or manufacturing. Carpenter and Dunung’s text is designed to speak to technologically-savvy students who see national borders as bridges and not barriers.
Managerial Accounting by Kurt Heisinger, Joe Hoyle
ISBN: 9781453345290
Managerial Accounting was written around three major themes: Ready, Reinforcement and Relevance. This book is aimed squarely at the new learning styles evident with today’s students and addresses accounting industry changes as well.
Principles of Economics by Libby Rittenberg, Timothy Tregarthen
ISBN: 9781936126019
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
This book is intended for a two-semester course in Economics taught out of the social sciences or business school. Principles of Economics aims to teach considerable range and depth of Economic concepts through an approachable style and methodology. The authors take a three-pronged approach to every chapter: The concept is covered with a “Heads Up” to ward off confusion, a real-world application for that concept, and a “You Try It” section to make sure students are staying on top of the concept.
Principles of Economics by Timothy Taylor
Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Economics covers the scope and sequence for a two-semester principles of economics course. The text also includes many current examples, including; discussions on the great recession, the controversy among economists over the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare), the recent government shutdown, and the appointment of the United States’ first female Federal Reserve chair, Janet Yellen.
Principles of Macroeconomics by Timothy Taylor
Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Macroeconomics covers the scope and sequence for a one-semester economics course. The text also includes many current examples, including: the housing bubble and housing crisis, Zimbabwe’s hyperinflation, global unemployment, and the appointment of the United States’ first female Federal Reserve chair, Janet Yellen.
Principles of Microeconomics by Timothy Taylor
Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Microeconomics covers the scope and sequence for a one-semester economics course. The text also includes many current examples, including; the Keystone Pipeline, Occupy Wall Street, and debates over the minimum wage.

Supplemental Open Access Resources

- An extensive and free site covering the first college level accounting class. it is free. There are other materials which are available and are fee based. Site also contains numerous templates (Excel) for solving problems included.

Company Data

-This interactive tutorial teaches the basics of searching for company information. The guide is specifically designed for Indiana State University freshman and sophomores, but is appropriate for any adult learner who is unfamiliar with the material. Fundamental concepts of conducting company research are linked to illustrated, step-by-step guides demonstrating how to search a variety of online business resources. Embedded quizzes offer the user the opportunity for gauging their mastery of the material. This tutorial is used by students in freshman English and business classes, distance learners, and university career center clients doing research prior to interviews. Note: Access to many of the databases is restricted to the ISU community.

E-Commerce Business Ethics Case Study

- Students will explore ethical decision making and current issues in e-commerce as they follow the developments of E-Kin -- a company started by graduate students. As E-Kin grows and delves into the world of e-commerce, the founders and executives encounter some tough decision making.

An Ethics Toolkit for Managers

- This is a tutorial on Business Ethics provided by the Free Management Library. The tutorial covers a number of different topics on ethics, provides some real life examples and also provides some exercise sheets for evaluating ethical scenarios.

Marketing Exercises on the Net

- This free site provided by Irwin McGraw-Hill offers a group of exercises for various Marketing topics. For each topic (i.e. Business Marketing), there are numerous exercises designed to look for information about the topic. Links to appropriate sites are provided.