Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What Moves You? A Resource Guide to Popular Social Movements

Resources related to the #blacklivesmatter, #marchforourlives, #marchforscience, #metoo, #timesup, and #nobannowall social movements.

Why Reference?

Most reference resources are considered "tertiary" souce materials. These books and websites provide background information and an overview and analysis of a subject or concept/  Unlike a secondary source book or journal article, tertiary sources are not intended to be read in their entirety. Instead, they are most often used to clarify terms and concepts about a topic.Tertiary sources include:

  • Almanacs and Factbooks
  • Bibliographies*
  • Chronologies
  • Dictionaries and Encyclopedias*
  • Indexes and Abstracts
  • Manuals
  • Textbooks*

*Also considered secondary

Research Starter via GALILEO

Research Starters is a new feature in GALILEO Discover search results that provides citable, authoritative summary articles for thousands of popular topics. Research Starters appear at the top of the results list and include an overview of the topic, links to related information, helpful images, and a bibliography. Content in this feature comes from a variety of reliable sources, both proprietary and encyclopedic.

 

 

Credo Reference

Encyclopedias

To find subject dictionaries relevant to your issue, country, or geographic region, search GALILEO or the catalog and add "AND encyclopedia" to your search. (e.g. "Global Economy AND encyclopedia")

Dictionaries

To find subject dictionaries relevant to your issue, country, or geographic region, search GALILEO and add "AND dictionary" to your search.
(e.g. "Poverty AND dictionary")

Asa H. Gordon Library

Savannah State University 2200 Tompkins Rd Savannah, GA 31404 Phone: (912) 358-4324 Reference Text Line: (912) 226-2479